Feather loss in a healthy chicken

• 5 Replies

Diamond

« on: June 29, 2008, 21:03 »
Wondering if anyone might be able to shed light on this condition. I have one chicken in my little flock of four, who is suffering from some feather loss on her neck and tummy. Other than this, she is a very healthy, happy chicken - good appetite, normal behaviours, always full of zest & happy to see me, tail in normal position etc etc. I can see my chooks from my kitchen window & haven't noticed any aggressive beaviour from other members of the flock, and even if there were, it doesn't really explain the loss from her tummy. I can't see any sign of mites and her diet is good.

These chooks have just turned two and are my first brood, and so I am still a relative newbie in these matters. Can anyone help me see what I've missed??!

Thank you!

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2008, 21:16 »
Hi Diamond welcome to the forums  :D

Can't help you I'm afraid but some one who may know will be along shortly
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

Kate and her Ducks

« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2008, 21:42 »
Don't know much about chickens (more of a duck girl) but could she be getting broody? They pull out feathers to line the nest themselves I understand.
Be like a duck. Calm on the surface but always paddling like the dickens underneath.

Foxy

« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2008, 22:11 »
Hello Diamond,
Do you have a cockerel?
The reason I ask is there could be a few reasons
1.Cock related -they do tend to tug on neck feathers
2. Semi moult -Sometimes a partial moult just from neck
3. Broodiness - usually just breast area and will feel quite warm,coupled with broody behaviour -more time in nest box, fluffing up and a kinda of growling at you! :lol:
4. Feather pecking -is usually around vent area and area usually looks "pecked" with some evidence of blood

Hope this helps!!!

Diamond