Why dib in leeks?

• 18 Replies

JohnB47

Why dib in leeks?
« on: July 04, 2010, 23:09 »
Or to ask it another way, what if you just planted the darn things, nice and deep?

I read somewhere that leaving them in a dibbed hole is to 'allow them to bulk out'. Really? Like they're going to stay super thin just because of soil pressure? Are they that weak?

To my mind (and I'm probably wrong) plants have an enormous strength, exerted slowly over a long period of time. Carrots and parsnips seem to manage it, never mind spuds. Are leeks different?

JayG

• Global Moderator
Re: Why dib in leeks?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2010, 23:14 »
It's my first time ever growing leeks so don't actually know much about them but I've read plenty!

Best explanation for me is that it helps prevent soil getting trapped in the leaves which results in gritty leeks which are difficult to clean properly. Seems to make sense!  ;)
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

compostqueen

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2010, 23:17 »
I plant in a deep hole  :D  I make the hole good and deep so that the shank of the leek will be white as it's below soil level and won't see the light of day, so I suppose the deeper they are the whiter and longer the shank will be

I make a hole for mine with a long handled bulb planter but  a walking stick whirled around in the soil is quite good  :)

Ice

• muck spreader
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2010, 23:19 »
I have to agree with JayG.  The consensus of opinion seems to be that planting like this reduces the chance that the leeks will trap sand or soil when growing.
Cheese makes everything better.

8doubles

« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2010, 07:30 »
I expect the main reason for dibbing leeks in is speed. A dibber is much faster than a trowel if you are putting in hundreds of leeks.