What causes veg to bolt?

• 20 Replies

potter

What causes veg to bolt?
« on: May 09, 2009, 08:14 »
I am quite new to to veggie growing and to be fair, try but dont have much luck. Ive  tried cauliflower and pak choi and both bolted on me; I dont understand why,or what causes it or what to do to to stop it.   

Can anyone explain?????
The lady loves milk tray...and dairy milk....and galaxy....and mars bars.....and crisps....and wine.............etc......................etc.................etc

SG6

Re: What causes veg to bolt?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2009, 08:33 »
Pak Choi will bolt because they are "tropical".
By tropical I do not mean they need tropical temperatures but they need equal length day and night.

In the part of the world they come from that is the normal throughout the year, in the latitudes we are at they see an imbalance in the day/night ratio and so bolt.

I tried them last year and the same happened.
Did a search and found the reason above given in just about all explanations. And it made apparent sense, well it all tied together.

The suggestion was to plant for over the equinox when day/night is about equal. Means planting a bit before, getting them to grow then harvesting a little after the equinox. Day and night about equal the whole time. But a bit too much to make it worthwhile I decided.

As to cauli, not a clue. Sorry. Stress is all I can think of.

blackbob

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2009, 08:42 »
I am quite new to to veggie growing and to be fair, try but dont have much luck. Ive  tried cauliflower and pak choi and both bolted on me; I dont understand why,or what causes it or what to do to to stop it.   

Can anyone explain?????

sprouts and caulis tend to bolt on loose ground,weather also plays a major role.a long hot spell will fire them away if they go short of water.
i like to plant my brassicas very firmly,i use the shank of a ball pin hammer to firm them in.seems to work for me.

potter