Question for Munty

• 12 Replies

Gardening Mark

• Experienced Member
Question for Munty
« on: April 19, 2007, 23:20 »
Hi could you plz tell me the hen to cockerel ratio, as I have 13 hens and 3 cocks, is hat too much, as 3 hens and a cock are seperate from  the rest so really its 5 each at the min although one of the cocks isnt getting too much action lol. cheers dude.....

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
Question for Munty
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2007, 23:26 »
Hi Mark, munty's computer isn't well at the moment, so we haven't seen him since Easter.

I'm not an expert, but I think a cockerel can handle more than 5 hens.  I thought it was a lot more, but maybe Aunt Sally will be around soon, and she might know.  We don't hvae cockerels, as our chooks are just for the eggs

GrannieAnnie

Question for Munty
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2007, 23:31 »

Gardening Mark

• Experienced Member
Question for Munty
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2007, 23:36 »
Nice1 Annie, he has his hands full then eh, and boy are these some lucky cocks lol.  I know I dont need so mant cocks but i love the look of them all as they are all different breeds, and I want young ones from them all hopefully....

GrannieAnnie

Question for Munty
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2007, 23:38 »
I know what you mean about the cockerels Mark, some of them are really magnificent aren't they?  We had a lovely Rhode Island Red Once.  He was almost Black and how his feathers shone!

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Question for Munty
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2007, 07:43 »
I've no idea what the ideal cock to hen ratio is.  But I'm sure there are other members here (other than Muntjac) who keep cocks.  

I don't want fertile eggs so never wanted a cock.  Don't think the neighbours would be impressed either  :roll:   I believe in a large flock they stop the hens wandering off but I'm afraid that's the limit of my knowledge  :(

purplebat

Question for Munty
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2007, 11:11 »