Will things grow?!

• 8 Replies

Kelly1976

Will things grow?!
« on: September 20, 2008, 22:35 »
Hi all,

I've just discovered that my plot has not been used for at least 10 years.  I kind of jumped into this and with waiting lists quite long took a plot that is probably not perfect - it is quite close to trees which cause a lot of shade being my major concern.  Will I being able to grow anything - something - I am not fussy?!!!!!  

I am also finding lots and lots and lots of stones, do I need to remove all of these during my digging?  Sorry for the silly questions (again).  I really am a complete novice!!!!

I have been told by several people on the same site that nothing is going to grow and I must be mad to have taken it on.

lincspoacher

Will things grow?!
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2008, 22:49 »
If things didnt grow in the shade of trees,there would be vast areas of the Uk that were bare soil.

Now its true that being in shade might slow stuff down, so you probably need to plant earlier and harvest later, but only under dense forest canopies does nothing grow, end even then SOMETHING still grows.

Prolly some of the plant experts here can tel you what veg dont mind shade.  I suspect grapes and sweetcorn are out.

vegmandan

Will things grow?!
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2008, 00:00 »
No problem.!!

There are a lot of veg that will tollerate shade,especially leafy veg like spinach,kale,lettuce etc.

Beetroot,radish and broccolli won't mind too much either.

Many fruits which are natural woodland edge plants will be fine too like Raspberries,blackcurrants,gooseberries and Rhubarb.

I know this as all my fruit bushes are right behind a 10 ft hedge and don't get any sun after 1pm.

Herbs like parsley,chives and mint are fine too.

As for digging out stones ...don't bother with anything smaller than a matchbox let's say, as stones improve drainage and they also help your soil warm up quicker and store the heat more at night.