When it all seems worth it...

• 6 Replies

HLS

• Experienced Member
When it all seems worth it...
« on: July 13, 2009, 10:30 »
Last night I was sitting outside enjoying a three-course meal made with lots of home-grown veg, enjoying the warm weather and listening to the birds singing.  It's my first year and I haven't had wonderful yields so far but it's still a good feeling knowing that I can grow at least some of my own food.

The starter was an apricot and nasturtium flower salad (wonderful combination of flavours, incidentally - made up on the spur of the moment because I accidentally pulled up a nasturtium plant and had a couple of bought apricots to use up), with three types of homegrown lettuce and homegrown nasturtiums.  Main course was free-range chicken baked with homegrown thyme, with homegrown potatoes, homegrown chard, my first ever homegrown carrots and homegrown mangetout.  Pudding was thick natural yoghurt with homemade gooseberry (grown by friends and picked by me) compote.

Now, of course, I'm worrying about whether my beans are actually going to flower, and what to do with the three kale plants sitting in pots as I'm not sure quite how to fit netting round the only spare ground on the plot...

Elcie

Re: When it all seems worth it...
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2009, 13:01 »
mmmm that sounds delicious!  It is wonderful when you harvest and eat food that you have grown yourself.  Priceless!

Beetroot queen

« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2009, 13:31 »
Thats the moment when you can feed all those tired and starving muscles, it is worth it and if it wasn't most of us would still have fun trying  ::) :lol:

aelf

• idndtdodaftl
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2009, 16:42 »
sounds delicious! When can we all come round for tea?  :)
There's more comfrey here than you can shake a stick at!

http://www.wedigforvictory.co.uk/dig_icon.gif[/img]

shay

« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2009, 18:24 »