Going green

• 7 Replies

Moby1

Going green
« on: October 09, 2007, 15:08 »
How do you get chickens interested in greens? mine will eat mash and corn, but don't pay any interest in anything hung up - cabbage, broccoli, lettuce , celery.

Selkie

Going green
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2007, 15:27 »
hi,

mine seem to be a bit wary of things hanging up for them, so i just leave stuff on the ground for them to peck at -- they went bonkers over a cucumber i'd split in two the other day!

i think my hens are lacking in the intelligence department (they're lovely and i wouldn't change them but they're not the brightest :idea: ) -- they don't like perching either...

chickychick

• Experienced Member
Going green
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2007, 13:57 »
I am new to chickens only had em a couple of months however I have discovered that if I want em to eat something like greens that they dont fancy I use the same phsychology I used for other creatures.

I give tit bits they love like corn by hand very sparingly in the late afternoon as if its treat time, once they get used to treat time I start giving little bits of greens like little bits of dandelion leaves, they will fight to be first in, that way you can get em to want what you want them to want.   I have found this works with my chickens so far even if they wont try something and they have taken everything I have done this with.

Of course you are not stuck feeding by hand.  Once they know they like something they will just gobble it up

I think its natural to be caustious of new greens cause they have to know its not poisonous so will just try a bit until they are sure it wont make them ill
ok so I know its a daft question but Im cute ......

muntjac

Going green
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2007, 14:00 »