Deneguard? Poorly hen

• 8 Replies

Carrie99

Deneguard? Poorly hen
« on: July 22, 2015, 17:20 »
Hi all....so, excuse my obviously naivety here as I'm new to chickens still and am learning issues as they come up.
I was given a buff Orpington last year which has always done the odd sneeze/cough now and then. At the time I asked the guy who'd given me the chicken about this and he assured me she was fine. I've heard her doing this now and then but she has always seemed fit and well apart from this.
Anyway today, a year in, she seems quite lethargic, I've picked her up to inspect her and noticed one eye has a couple of small bubbles in it. After googling I'm guessing this is a respiratory illness and I should have perhaps taken action many months ago :-(.  Someone mentions deneguard? Altho I've no idea how to get my hands on any? Others say antibiotics via injection? Any ideas? I've got her booked in at the vet on Friday but am wondering if there's anything I can do in the mean time...
Any help appreciated :-)

Helenaj

Re: Deneguard? Poorly hen
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2015, 06:40 »
Hi Carrie99

Sorry to hear your hen is poorly, it certainly sounds like Mycoplasma or other similar infection

Ask the vet for soluble Tylan (also called Tylosin) rather than Baytril and enough to treat all of your hens.  It is the only antibiotic that does not require an egg withdrawal. Treat your hen first as a main priority, but I would also treat the rest just as a precaution. The antibiotic is water soluble so can be put in their drinking water, but make sure that it cannot be diluted further by rainfall. Hopefully you should see an improvement within a few days.

Good luck

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2015, 07:24 »
I have used Deneguard in the past with good results, but first of all you need to realise that your hen will always have myco and that myco is highly contagious.