are chickens and veg plots compatible?

• 11 Replies

simange

« on: May 25, 2008, 22:59 »
Hi I am new to this so please bare with me.I have just finished my own little veg plot in my garden now I would like to go further and get some hens. my problem is I am worried the hens will ruin my grass and my veg plot. I was thinking of warrens or rhodies.can anyone help.My garden is quite large and laid to lawn and do not want it scratched up but i also want the chickens to roam as much as possible.

poultrygeist

« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2008, 23:03 »
Hi simange,

I think you can be safe in teh knowledge that yes.....they will destroy your veg patch and churn up your lawn !

Depending on how many hens on how big an area, they can turn grass into dirt/mud fairly quickly.
Some people only let them roam for a couple of hours/day over a large area and seem to get away with it. We keep ours in a fixed run but I'd like to fence off a roaming area at some point.

But I think the veg patch is a no no.

Rob

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2008, 23:04 »
Chickens just Luuuuuurve gardens.  But they will wreck the lot if you let them!!!!  You'd be better giving them a run for most of the time and letting them out when you are around to keep an eye on them, but they love digging and scratching everything up.

jammy

« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2008, 23:11 »
Hi Simange, welcome to the forums.

I got my chickens last year and allowed them free range of the garden for at least half a day every day.  After a few months I got very fed up of clearing up after them all the time lol.  They didnt actually do too much damage to the lawn but they demolished all my flower beds and made a nice big bath out of the veg bed :roll:.  
The coop and run has now been moved to a different part of the garden and I have netted off a piece of the garden around them so they can still roam around but nicely contained.  They have their area and I have mine  :D

peggyprice