Tomato seedlings fallen over

• 13 Replies

mashauk

« on: April 08, 2008, 22:33 »
I finally got some to germinate, and they got to about 2 inches tall, I was keeping them in the seed tray along with other stuff, but they've all fallen over, sob!

new_2_veg

« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2008, 22:41 »
im getting no where with mine :cry:
2 allotments, long standing back problem, am i mad?

agapanthus

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2008, 23:25 »
Try re-potting them in 3inch pots....should help, also don't overwater. :)

puravida

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2008, 08:02 »
I'm no expert but form what I have read, you can replant them right up to their first set of leaves. Tuck them in nice and firm. They'll grow more roots out of the stem and it will help sturdy them.

Failing that - you're not too late to get some more going? Tom seed packets have loads in there.
Good beer, good BBQ and good friends.

weeeed

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2008, 10:02 »
I agree pot them up but be careful and definately don't overwater. Sounds like that is the problem. Have you added anything to the compost to aid airiation(what a fab word! Did a just make it up) could be that the compost is just too solid. :wink:
I know less today than I did yesterday, and I knew nothing then!

mashauk

« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2008, 19:37 »
Hmm, how much is overwatering?  We've been spraying very lightly on a daily basis as they are mostly still in the seed cells, every time I've tried to move them they die anyway. The ones I've got in plastic boxes seem to be germinating better but I'm scared to touch them now as they just flop and cark it. I'm going to keep trying until the last possible minute.

Stripey_cat

« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2008, 20:53 »