new to chickens need a little help

• 11 Replies

daz

• Experienced Member
« on: June 15, 2008, 08:52 »
hi im new to keeping chickens/bantams and im looking for a little advice
about a month ago i bought 2 1 year wynedots(excuse spelling) and 5 chicks 2 more wynedots 1 light sussex 1 leghorn and a pekin , the chicks are about 7-8 weeks old and feathered and i took them off heat a couple of nights ago and then put them with the other 2 last night and they seem to be doing fine except one of the adult birds is peking the chicks now i now its normal for them to do this and sort a peking order but when is it to much and considered a problem? and are they likely to settle? i have let the 2 adult birds out of the run for now to seperate them

also there seems to be a problem with one of the wyndot chicks it looks very healthy but i guess the only way to describe it is lethargic and doesnt seem right where as others scracth about and do what chickens do this one dont do much at all and dont run when attacked either any advice
thanx in advance

Foxy

« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2008, 09:08 »
Hi Daz and welcome to the forum! :lol:  :lol:

Personally I would have left it a few more weeks before introducing the chicks to the older birds just because the pecking can turn nasty and will be very stressful for the chicks,particulary if there isn't anywhere to hide.
Stress can also lower immunity so be more prone to diseases.

You mention a lethargic chick, what do the droppings look like? Does the chick looked fluffed up with droppy wings?Are the chicks on grass? A very common but treatable disease which affects youngsters is coccidiosis characterised by lethargy,ruffled feathers and loose sometimes blooming droppings. Treatment is effective if started ASAP. (coxoid added to water and available from feed stores)
Finally what feed are they on and have they been on a medicated starter crumb?
Hope this helps!

daz

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2008, 09:14 »