• 26 Replies

thunderflorrie

« on: June 10, 2006, 03:39 »
Hi everyone,
Yesterday I collected the keys to my first allotment. It has not been loved for about 5 yrs so you can imagine what it looks like. I have it for free until next yr so that I can hopefully get some control of the plot.
I plan to do little and often for now and just keep tackling those stinging nettles. It has a dried up river around three sides of the site with only 5 plots and it is also enclosed with a 6ft high fence. No other water supply but I dug a whole today and it seemed very moist to me, I suspect the water table isn't too deep.
I have been growing veg in pots in my garden for the last few years but this can be a bit boring and lonesome.
So that is me, looking for a new challenge and new friends and new growing opportunities.
Kind regards Thunderflorrie

Tensing

• Experienced Member
    • uk goat owners
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2006, 08:01 »
No real advice as I am new to all this also.

Just wanted to say hi.
Caroline

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2006, 10:11 »
Welcome Thunderflorrie - so you're now a pioneer.
If you have a high water table (the river rings bells, what will it be like come winter?)  You may like to think about some deep beds.
Having said that, my plot is pretty damp - just a couple of weeks ago I dug a hole and it filled with water. Been a wet old year up here until now.
Check out our books - ideal presents

John and Val Harrison's Books

noshed

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2006, 10:27 »
Nettles are good to compost - just get some good gloves!
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2006, 10:56 »
I read that a good way to deal with big patches of nettles is a scythe. Cut them down and compost, repeat about 5 times and the nettles die after giving you their stolen hoard of minerals for your heap.

thunderflorrie