Starting again

• 2 Replies

bastonjock

• South Lincolnshire
Starting again
« on: August 22, 2010, 18:57 »
hi Guys

im new to the hen house,i have kept chickens and ducks in the past but after they were descemated by a couple of foxes,i stopped keeping them.Well i have now gone and bought a new hen house with a run,it should be delivered in a few days and the local butcher has offered me eight chicks for free,they are a mixed breed and mixed sex so that should be amusing.

I will go out and get red mite powder,feed,drinking containers and feeding containers,as they are young birds at 8 weeks old,will i need any other items?

bantam novice

Re: Starting again
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2010, 19:37 »
Hello and welcome!  There is a lot of good advice about what you need to get for new chickens.  Off the top of my head I would say some flubenvet wormer, some frontline spray and some diatom.  I'm sure some of the more experienced members will be able to point you in the right direction.  In the meantime Good Luck  :)
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

hillfooter

Re: Starting again
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2010, 02:05 »
hi Guys

im new to the hen house,i have kept chickens and ducks in the past but after they were descemated by a couple of foxes,i stopped keeping them.Well i have now gone and bought a new hen house with a run,it should be delivered in a few days and the local butcher has offered me eight chicks for free,they are a mixed breed and mixed sex so that should be amusing.