phew - hard work!

• 24 Replies

MuddyDoris

phew - hard work!
« on: March 11, 2011, 16:35 »
I just started digging up my plot. It is basically just a patch of grass right now and it is soooo hard to dig! I have never had a garden so I am really new to all of this but had no idea that digging would be so tough, I am exhausted! I hope I get fit and lose a big of weight doing all this! The soil is clay and it looks really rich and healthy there are lots of worms in it too which I disturbed! I need sleep.

Paul Plots

Re: phew - hard work!
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2011, 16:40 »
Digging gets easier the more of it you do. If you ache like mad tomorrow go back down there and do some more digging (even if it hurts a bit) and gradually the pains will wear off.

If you can, watch an old digger dig. There's a bit of a knack to leverage that doesn't pull on your back.

I'm not sure I've got it...everyone has their own style and my aches and pains wore off years ago.

Take it easy... a little bit and then rest.  ;)
« Last Edit: March 11, 2011, 16:41 by Learner »
Never keep your wish-bone where your back-bone ought to be.

andy135

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2011, 16:49 »
Just think, some people pay a lot of money for gym membership. All this is free.  :lol:

TerryB

• Winner of the Tallest Sunflower Competition - 2011
  • Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2011, 16:56 »
Get a Digging Hoe, makes it a lot easier than using a spade and less strain on your back.

Kleftiwallah

« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2011, 16:57 »
The basic idea is NOT to lift the soil futher than you have to to turn it over, raise it just enough then turn it.   And go easy little and often.   Cheers,   Tony.
I may be growing OLD, but I refuse to grow UP !

flitwickone

• We Dig For Victory
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2011, 17:01 »
good on ya a little by little and then one day you will turn around and then its all done then you get your hoe out and  life is good

Nikkithefoot