jayes fluid

• 7 Replies

sladefungus

jayes fluid
« on: February 26, 2007, 21:33 »
Hi there
Had my dad visiting and he helped me do some digging on my plot today.  we pulled back the canvas thats been on the main growing area for a year and he wasnt very impressed with the soil.  Its very black and he reckons it can only be described as 'dirt' rather than soil.  he suggested i water it with a solution of jayes fluid to counteract any nastiness going on but wont that kill the good bacteria too?  i dont have any nice compost to liven the soil up as its my first year on the plot and i intend to lime it and fertilise it with potash, bonemeal and chicken droppings.  so yeah - should i blast it with jayes fluid?
Time is natures way of stopping everything happening at once

liz from the fizz

• Experienced Member
jayes fluid
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2007, 21:44 »
my grandad used to use jeyes fluid on his veg patch and my grannie used it as a birth control measure  {true folks], but you  need the likes of john shaun and muntjac for the definitive answers. Good luck and welcome.
If you cant be a good example then you must  be a horrrible warning........

To sit on the fence is not an option

WG.

Re: jayes fluid
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2007, 21:57 »
Quote from: "sladefungus"
Hi there
Had my dad visiting and he helped me do some digging on my plot today.  we pulled back the canvas thats been on the main growing area for a year and he wasnt very impressed with the soil.  Its very black and he reckons it can only be described as 'dirt' rather than soil.  he suggested i water it with a solution of jayes fluid to counteract any nastiness going on but wont that kill the good bacteria too?  i dont have any nice compost to liven the soil up as its my first year on the plot and i intend to lime it and fertilise it with potash, bonemeal and chicken droppings.  so yeah - should i blast it with jayes fluid?