Help Required

• 6 Replies

Spanky855

Help Required
« on: August 29, 2006, 15:48 »
Firstly can I say what a great forum. I think this is going to be invaluable for me (Lee ) and my partner Sally.
We are total novices but with plenty of reading books and this forum we are slowing picking the basics up  :) .
I have a question which I cant find the answer to.
The plot we have just taken on is extremely over grown, 1/10th of it cultivated this year 4/10th  a couple of years ago and 1/2 I really dont know!. my plan is to keep the top 1/3 @ lawn mower level and tidy maybe plant a few fruit trees and bushes and cutivate the bottom 2/3rds.
Whats the best way to clear all the weeds, roots etc , I have cut it down to ground level and cleared it all, I then thought of using a sheen gun and torching the rest of the weeds, turning it over with a rotavator pulling out big roots etc and torchin again until theres no sign of the *. is this a good idea?
Help and ideas would be greatly appreciated,, Regards Lee & Sal

mellowmick

• Experienced Member
Help Required
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2006, 08:51 »
What I did was cut it all back as low as possible, then take the top layer of turf off the areas I wanted to have as beds. I used the turfs to build up my paths and build up round the plot perimeter. I then double-dug the soil to get at the couch grass roots etc which rotorvating would just chop up and distribute even further.
The downside of this is that you're actually removing some of the topsoil when you take the turfs off, but torching it would probably reduce it's fertility anyway.

Spanky855

Help Required
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2006, 19:41 »
Thankyou Mick

Im taking advice at the moment from ayone and anywhere, everyone has a different idea which is great.
The one im considering is using a glyphosate weed killer to kill the weed and roots then rotavate, does anyone have any thoughts regarding this idea?

Regards  Lee and Sally

ytyynycefn