Plastics and carpets

• 15 Replies

Lilylove

Plastics and carpets
« on: May 08, 2018, 14:15 »
Hi All - new to this site and allotment gardening!  However, I have been an avid organic gardener of both veg and flowers in my own garden and am therefore not a total novice.

Four days ago, I became the tenant of the plot from hell which, to my knowledge, hasn't been used for 10+ years.  Apparently the previous tenant strimmed it once per year and kept it on (?!).  On this plot (50' x 40'), the whole area is thick with nettles, bindweed, 30' of brambles and all the usual perennial nasties.  (Next doors plot also has horsetail but no evidence (yet) of it on my bit).  There is also lots of metal, broken glass, a rotten shed and some rotting scaffolding boards which crumble as soon as you touch them! 

Now that I have handcut all the weeds to the floor, I find that I have inherited a layer of membrane, over carpet, over (crumbling) underlay, over yet more membrane and plastic (brittle and crumbling).  Many areas have at least 3-4 layers :mad:

Otherwise the plot is surrounded by beautifully mature deciduous trees which will have dropped a ton of leaves onto the plot over the years. The soil, when I can uncover it, looks good and is perfectly friable. 

Despite this, I have not been deterred (call me daft if you will) but it has suddenly dawned on me that all this detritus (particularly the carpets and plastic) will possibly have been leaking goodness knows what over the years.  Do you think I am safe to grow and eat things grown in the soil from the get go or should I postpone planting directly into the soil and focus on raised beds for the immediate future (and if so, for how long).

Sorry for the rant but thank you for any advice  :D

1st day - Back right.jpg

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Plastics and carpets
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2018, 15:02 »