I'm looking for chickens

• 6 Replies

RookieJim

• Experienced Member
I'm looking for chickens
« on: June 03, 2013, 11:50 »
Hello all,

For some time now I've been considering getting some chickens for my allotment. Today, after I was done weeding, I went and seen some that a fellow plot holder has, and now I gotta have some.  :D

I've never owned them before so I'd be a complete newbie.

I'm looking to get 3 hens to start off with, but I have no idea where to buy them from, or how much space they will need.

I will be buying a coop but they'll have an outdoor area so they can roam, which will be completely covered in mesh or something similar. How much space would they need?

Any tips on where to buy them would be greatly accepted, as well as any other info that I need, relevant to keeping hens.

Cheers,
Jim
British by birth, Scottish by the grace of God

Beetroot queen

Re: I'm looking for chickens
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2013, 14:28 »
The best thing you can do is read all the advice on this forum.

Lots of very wise chicken keepers on here  :D

splash101

« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2013, 15:21 »
Also chat to your fellow plot holder, they maybe able to advise you of somewhere local to you where you can buy them from.

The more space you can give them, the better. It means less problems later on. Generally 2 sq meters per bird in the run, more if you can. Some shelter from rain and sun.
The run will need to be fox/badger proof so use weldmesh and not chicken wire. And remember they can dig under.

If you type your question in the search bit (up to your right - white bar) you will find lots of helpful links that will cover how much space you need and other great info.

Do all of your planning well before you buy anything.

If you buy a coop designed for 3 birds, chances are you will want to expand pretty soon so you may want to buy bigger to start with rather than 6 months down the line wish you had bought bigger and then go to more expense of getting another coop.