Confessions....of a closet allotment holder

• 11 Replies

Jenny

« on: July 21, 2006, 17:16 »
Okay, I admit it.  :oops:
I have been secretly looking at this site for quite a while now without registering and finally the guilt caught up with me and I felt I had to 'out'.
So, 'Hello!'
I've had my allotment for three years but despite the lack of rain, this year is the best so far.
Currently I am eating: carrots, peas, courgettes (the whole 19p packet germinated - that's about 15 plants...), cucumbers, potatoes (but not many due to the drought) and yesterday I had my first ripe tomato and a sweetcorn!!!
I am growing: everything I'm eating..., runner beans, vegetable spaghetti and butternut squash, pumpkins, onions, chillis, melons, cabbages, salsify, leeks, lettuce (bolted), parsnips, asparagus peas, coriander and some other herbs, kohl rabi and sweet potatoes.
Despite being 'up north' I have been praying for rain for two months with very little result. Hasn't it been an odd year??!!!

Jenny

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2006, 17:32 »
Hi Jenny
Anyone would think it's sinful being an allotmenteer! 'My name is Jenny and I have an allotment'' LOL  :tongue2:
Surprised you have sweetcorn already - mine are nowhere near and I'm a bit south of you. Haven't been to hull for a long time but I do recall it was a little cool. In fairness it was winter and I nearly got the car stuck in a blizzard on the M62.
Anyway, now you're out of the closet you can go on the growing pride march.
Lovely to have you onboard.
Check out our books - ideal presents

John and Val Harrison's Books

BillinPA

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2006, 18:03 »
Quote from: "john"
Hi Jenny
Anyone would think it's sinful being an allotmenteer! 'My name is Jenny and I have an allotment'' LOL  :tongue2:

Sounds like joining a 12 step program for an addiction!! :oops: But it's a good addiction to have................ :lol: