Fertiliser for Leeks

• 4 Replies

jazzbyrd

• Experienced Member
Fertiliser for Leeks
« on: October 13, 2012, 15:01 »
Should I give my leeks a feed at this time of the year and if so what should I use?
Do androids dream of electric sheep?

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Fertiliser for Leeks
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2012, 15:31 »
I am by no means a fertiliser expert but I would fear that too much fertiliser at this time of year might produce weak growth which is susceptible to winter damage.

Happy to be corrected by others though.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Growster...

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2012, 18:03 »
They really need to swell their bulbs now, Jazzbyrd, but actually, we just give them a little bit of liquid manure now and then, just to make them feel wanted!

The rain will make them get that much wider, but watch for them going to seed, and shooting skywards!

If that happens, you'll need to dig them up and heel them in a nice pleasant place so they can retire gracefully until you want to eat them.

We're contemplating the same scenario, so you're with friends!

Carollan

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2012, 20:40 »
Growster,any idea what I`ve done wrong to my leeks to make them start to bolt?

I`ve never grown them before and was feeling very proud of my 3 beautiful rows of ten in a row leeks,all looking the part......till I noticed a fat flower bud on one of them.I cut it out.

I didn`t manure the plot before I put them in,its a new part that we only recently took on.
This year has been so awful,the onions in the same `roots and onion` patch sat in puddles for the best of 2 months and mostly rotted and died. It`s still rather claggy and is puddling
readily now every time it rains.

Is there anything I can do to stop the other 29 leeks following suit??

Growster...

« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2012, 05:59 »