Borlotti Beans - when to harvest?

• 8 Replies

MichelleC

• Experienced Member
Borlotti Beans - when to harvest?
« on: August 24, 2012, 10:24 »
Hi all , It's my first year growing climbing Lamon Borlotti Beans. After reading various threads and searches I'm still unsure when to harvest to use as fresh and how to cook. Can you eat them raw? Also if I want dry beans do I leave these on the plants until dry shells, pick, shell then leave to dry in dark place. Are these the ones you soak overnight before cooking? Will there be any pests to look out for as well? Any advice welcome.

Mrs Bee

Re: Borlotti Beans - when to harvest?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2012, 10:54 »
last year we picked them before the beans inside were large and ate them like runner beans.

We left some to get really big and I podded them and froze them to eat like broad beans.

This year we are leaving them to get to full size and will freeze them before they dry out.

I assume that you can leave them on the plant to dry out completely and then harvest them. I would think that afterwards when you cook them you would have to treat them like kidney beans and soak and boil them.

I am not sure whether you can eat them raw when they are dried or fresh. I would google that if I were you especially as kidney beans are toxic unless cooked.

compostqueen

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2012, 12:51 »
Congrats on the Lamons, they're lovely.  I dry them.  They can be dried on the plant but you end up losing them as they fall from the pods onto the ground as they dry out and the mice devour them. Even drying them off in the shed with baskets underneath failed as the mice got to them in there. I now take off the beans with their branches, just rip the whole drying foliage away from the supports and I take mine home where I plonk the whole lot into baskets (including the laundry baskets) and just let them dry off naturally (in the conservatory or spare room). The beans just fall out of their own accord