Potatoes in Raised Beds.

• 9 Replies

Eblana

Potatoes in Raised Beds.
« on: July 26, 2012, 10:08 »
I am relatively new to Allotment growing and have had a bit of a disasterous year so far, mind you it is amazing the difference a couple of days of sunshine makes - everything that has managed to survive looked much happier last night and my 6th attempt at carrots actually germinated over the past couple of days :)

Due to water logging on my plot I am mulling over the idea of raised beds - some would be 4 x 16 and others would be 7 x 16 (the deep gravel pathways that are already on my plot limits the sizes I can use!) but I am not sure if this will prevent me from growing potatoes in the future.  If I do put in raised beds how do I arrange the potatoes in them so that I can earth them up?

TerryB

• Winner of the Tallest Sunflower Competition - 2011
  • Experienced Member
Re: Potatoes in Raised Beds.
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2012, 12:28 »
If you don't want to walk on the beds, they should be no wider than 4ft.

2 rows of potatoes down the length of a 4ft wide bed or 4ft rows every 2ft, which ever you wish.

arugula

• Winner - prettiest sunflower 2011
  • hic svnt leones
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2012, 13:10 »
Our early potatoes are in part of a raised bed (rather than a deep bed) which is 4 foot deepwide by about 20 feet long but that is irrelevant here. The potatoes are arranged in 9 rows each 4 foot long. It works well. :)

Clarify measurements.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2012, 14:11 by argyllie »
"They say a snow year's a good year" -- Rutherford.

BabbyAnn

« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2012, 13:16 »
my plot is at the bottom of a hill and in 2007 I was wading ankle deep in water - so my entire plot is now divided up into raised beds (about 6-8 inch high) and has truly been tested this year and passed  ;)