Growing Portulaca

• 22 Replies

Goosegirl

Growing Portulaca
« on: July 24, 2012, 12:40 »
I recently bought some small plants from a local supplier as I have never tried them before. They are a lovely deep rose colour and have thin, slightly succulent leaves. I have Gogged for info on them, but wondered if anyone on here has tried them?
I work very hard so don't expect me to think as well.

New shoot

• Global Moderator
Re: Growing Portulaca
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2012, 12:48 »
We sell these as bedding plants at work  :)  They make a stunning hanging basket, but are not that well known really.  Customers who know about them tend to ask for them but they are really easy care, pretty plants  :)

How are you intending to grow them?  They sprawl a bit so are best in a container they can hang down over the edges of  :)

Goosegirl

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2012, 13:45 »
I have planted them in a large window trough spaced 6" apart as the label said. I see that the spacing can differ, maybe these are particularly dwarf, but they are the only plants in there this year. I live by the sea so am planning to grow from seed for next year's hanging baskets and troughs. Can they cope with the salt winds? Looking at their leaves, I thought they will either dry out very quickly or be resistant. I have seen various colours and they look so cheerful.

New shoot

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2012, 14:00 »
They are pretty tough as they are succulents really. Not sure about the salt spray as I live inland, but they are drought resistant - more so than many bedding plants.

Spacing of 6" is the standard one they stick on bedding.  You can cram them in so long as you feed and water a container well.  A window box of them sounds lovely  :)

Trillium

« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2012, 14:04 »