Containers for pickling onions and how long to leave before eating?

• 10 Replies

BabyStar

• Experienced Member
I've grown some barletta silverskin onions for pickling. A small number of them are ready but not enough to fill my 1/2 litre storage jars. I have an old jam jar in the cupboard -- if I sterilise this will this be okay to use? I read about the lid needing to be plastic coated on the inside because of the vinegar and I think it is.
This is my first year pickling and trying to make sure I do it right. It's not the same with sterilisation/preservation as the chutneys we made last year as the beetroot and onions aren't hot when they go in to seal the jars. And when we tried making jam and put it in the jam jars the heat sealed it and sucked the popper down. But this doesn't happen with the cold stuff.
I've done a jar of beetroot -- when I open it again is there a time limit for eating it? Also does anyone know how long you should leave it before eating it? My sister has a book that says it needs to be left for three months, whereas in my book it says you can have it after a week and that it's at its best for three months. Which one is right?! And is the rule for onions the same?

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
I use jam jars and old coffee jars too.  All I do is put a bit of cling film on the top before I screw the lid on.  But my pickled onions never last very long, but we start to eat them after a few days.  I think they get soggier the longer you leave them.

The good thing with the coffee jars are the lids are plastic, so the vinegar doesn't make them go rusty!

Trillium

My mum does the same thing, Grannieannie. I'm not much of a pickle eater but she does loads every year. The old glass-lidded kilner jars are perfect for this too, especially the 2 quart ones. Not sure if you have these in the UK but they go for a song at auctions and yard/boot sales here since they need rubber rings for true sealing and few people will bother these days.