What's the latest you can get away with planting out leeks?

• 9 Replies

shokkyy

• Mishka
My pot of leeks sits there in my cold frame looking at me, but the ground is so wet right now that I don't want to walk all over it to plant them out. How late can I plant them out and still get a decent crop?

Nikkithefoot

Re: What's the latest you can get away with planting out leeks?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2012, 14:44 »
I'm in a similar position. I'm going to pot them on into more compost to keep them growing, then if it ever stops raining then I'll plant them out.
I was put on this earth to accomplish a certain number of things; right now I am so far behind I will never die.

Goosegirl

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2012, 15:41 »
I actually had a sunny day - ooh! :D I needed to plant my leeks out (potted on twice), though I couldn't find my dibber, so used a bit of 2"x 4" and wiggled it around - needs must. I cut off the roots to about 4" according to RHS book which I have never done before, but they went in the holes very well. Despite one of my cats running away with one of them (little tinker), they are all in and watered. I have some trial ones from DTB which are far behind, though sown at the same time, and they were been potted on 2 weeks ago, so they will go in a bit later on. I hope we get leeks throughout winter - 'cos I luv'em!!!
I work very hard so don't expect me to think as well.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2012, 16:07 »
My first sowing got dibbed in today in the garden beds. The others are waiting to go on the allotment. I think I'll need to stand on a board to plant them  ::)

Kirpi

« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2012, 16:21 »
Weather like this is where no-walk beds with narrow paths alongside come into their own.

Truffle

• Experienced Member
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2012, 16:54 »
I have not yet been able to get my leeks in either. The weather has prevented me from weeding the area let alone plant them out. :(