Wood pigeons!

• 15 Replies

Jamie_D

Wood pigeons!
« on: June 21, 2012, 10:52 »
 :mad:

Hello everyone. I am new to the site (intro at: http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=95704.0) if you want more information.

Anyway, our cabbages and cauliflowers have been pretty much massacred the last two days - only the stalks and very jagged and odd-bits of leaves remain. I have done some investigating online and i suspect it was wood pigeons (the abundance of bird poo last night especially, after 80% of these crops had gone in a day!) sounds as though it was.

It's a bit 'shutting the barn door after the horse has bolted', but we are going to get some netting. What sort is best (in laymen's terms? - i'm new to this). I've read lots already on the boards and have taken in good tips on how to weigh the netting down.

I think the order in which we have planted stuff means that covering the whole plot will negatively affect other stuff. Off the top of my head, we have (all in rows) sunflowers, peas, spring onions, masscared cabbages, radishes, carrots, swede (at seed) massacred cauliflower, rocket (seedlings), lettuce (at seed), beetroot (at seed), then the last row split into three, with flowers, strawberries and chives (seedlings).

We did this in order that the smaller things would not be dwarved as big things got big, however having read up now on wood pigeons, i can see it will be more problematic.

As the cabbages / cauliflowers are pretty much all stalks now, are we best just starting again? What sort of netting would you recommend and how to best apply it? (ie. cover specific things / everything / plant pigeon-targets all together and cover them all together?)

Thank you for any help - hope i've made some sense. I can try and post a picture if not?

Jamie

Rampant_Weasel

• Potato Varieties
Re: Wood pigeons!
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2012, 10:54 »