Broody hen

• 28 Replies

cheekychick22

Broody hen
« on: May 18, 2012, 19:20 »
I have a broody hen no rooster I have been told that it would be goodfor her if I buy some live eggs. I really don't know what to do I have room for more but I'm a complete novice

Jo57

• Experienced Member
Re: Broody hen
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2012, 20:23 »
It is up to you. If you would like to have more (remembering you could get boys as well as girls) then go for it and buy some hatching eggs. It is rewarding, worrying, exciting, nerve wracking and well worth it! You will need to find out about where to keep your broody separate from the rest etc etc. If you don't want to, it is best to try and stop her being broody by putting her  in a cage or just keep lifting her off her nest and moving her on so she can keep warm and comfortable. It can take some time depending on breed.  Don't wait too long to start as it will take 3 weeks once the eggs are there and sitting for so long takes it out of mum. Good luck!

Casey76

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2012, 22:55 »
If you don't have room for any more, why on earth are you thinking about getting fertile eggs?

Have you thought about how you are going to separate the broody hen from your other hens, the extra expense of buying chick crumbs and special chick feeders and waterers, not to mention what will you do with the boys which hatch?

Sorry if I sound harsh, but many people give their broody hens fertile eggs to sit on without thinking of any of the consequences.

You can stop your hen from being broody by keeping her off the nest.  Either lock up the coop on a morning after the others have layed so she can't get back in, or keep lifting her off the nest throughout the day, or you can put her in a wire bottomed pet cage, with food and water. balance it on some bricks so the air goes underneath her, and she will snap out of it in a few days.

cheekychick22

« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2012, 14:29 »