How to first taste Asparagus.

• 17 Replies

Bodmass

• Follow Bod on Twitter
How to first taste Asparagus.
« on: May 13, 2012, 19:41 »
We inherited some asparagus on our new plot, & today I harvested the first stalks.  I've never tasted it before.

How should I prepare it for my first ever taste?

I have no knowledge of Asperagus at all, do I chop the heads off?  Do I chop the harder base part of the stalk?  Most importantly, how should I cook it?

I know I could look up various recipes through google, but what I'm looking for is a recommendation for what I should do for my first taste.  Something simple & about the asparagus rather than the dressing/sauce etc.

It's been suggested to me that I just fry it in butter or simply roast it (although even then, how to prepare?)

(Sorry that I can't interact on this question for an hour or two - I'm off to the pub for a club meeting now & will be back for 9.30 & looking for something I can do on my return so that I can try them on the day of harvest)

Any suggestions would be gratefully received!

Toiling through 100sq metres of clay - And I don't actually eat much veg!

tosca100

• New start, new life in BG
Re: How to first taste Asparagus.
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2012, 20:13 »
As far as preparation goes, if you gently bend the stalk, it should snap near the base and that is where the bottom bit goes woody, so discard the bottom. If the "scales" down the stalk seem hard you can gently remove them from the lower end.

You can simply boil in salted water for a few minutes, or steam till tender when you insert a knife, or cook on a griddle pan after smearing in very little oil, or roast in the oven.

Dress with butter, or olive oil, or butter and lemon, or simply sea salt, whatever takes your fancy.

If you are not sure you like it, don't give up as it can be an acquired taste. :)

Don't forget to give it a good rinse as it can be gritty if you don't. :ohmy:

If you don't like it, send it to me! :lol:

Ice

• muck spreader