Artichoke advise

• 5 Replies

digby

• Experienced Member
Artichoke advise
« on: May 12, 2012, 08:03 »
Hello everyone, 

My hubby came home from work yesterday with a 2 inch high artichoke plant given to him by a colleague.  To the best of my knowledge it is a globe artichoke and has been grown from seed.

Now I'm aware that not all seed artichokes will breed true so fingers crossed on that one but honestly I know nothing else so thought I'd turn to you guys for some advise

I have read that it needs cutting down in autumn, is this right down? How far do I go?

Is there anything else I should be aware of or do I just chuck it in with a load of compost and hope for the best? 

Also as its a permanent plant can it cope with a bit of shade so i can put it in my flower border or does it have to have is place in my veggie patch which gets more sun?

Thank you everyone

D :)

allotmentann

Re: Artichoke advise
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2012, 08:41 »
Hi Digby, it is my first time growing artichokes too. I did quite a bit of research recently on growing them and this is the information that I found in summary:
Mulch in early spring with well rotted manure (obviously this will be for next year).
Harvest July - September (but not the first year, when you should remove the flower heads). You harvest the heads before they open, it said that once the scales start opening they become inedible. Cut off the main head (King head) first, cutting the stem halfway back at the same time, which will encourage secondary growth.
Allow 4-6 heads per plant and remove unwanted buds from lateral shoots.
Apply liquid feed every two weeks from June to August (it didn't say what!).
Cut back the stems in autumn (as you said) and protect the crown over winter with a thick mulch of bark or straw etc,. Fleece in severe weather but remove cover as soon as possible.