Soft eggs / poorly hen?

• 8 Replies

Carrie99

Soft eggs / poorly hen?
« on: April 17, 2012, 11:44 »
Hello - I'm a bit new to poultry keeping so I'm wondering if anybody might have some advice for Belinda, my boldest chicken!

I took some ex-battery hens  back in October and they have improved beautifully since this time. They laid all through winter, most hens laying every day, which I thought was quite surprising, yet brilliant all the same!

Anyway, all of a sudden, since about 1 month ago I have started finding one soft egg at least 4-5 times each week. I believe I may know which hen it is coming from as she is making some noises that sound like she might be finding laying painful. Their food hasn't changed at all and I don't think anything is frightening them at all. The only thing that has changed is that due to the lighter nights I let them out of the run an awful lot more than in the winter, meaning they're getting access to more grubs/plants etc. than they would have. Could this make a difference? I'm just concerned as this doesn't seem to be a one off and I'm worried its something I'm doing :-s.

Carrie

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: Soft eggs / poorly hen?
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2012, 12:53 »
It can be an age thing and yes laying either soft shelled or shell less eggs is difficult for them as they have nothing to push against. Do they have access to any calcium - crushed oyster shell or wash, baked and crushed shells?
Staffies are softer than you think.

Carrie99

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2012, 18:04 »
Hi there, thanks for your reply; yes they have oyster shell and I also give them crushed egg shell. I suppose one could be avoiding it but they seem to eat it. She seemed to be making strange noises before I left for wk today but no soft eggs on my return...unless they've been eaten!

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2012, 19:43 »
Welcome to the site Carrie.