Poll

I am confused with all the conflicting literature on adding fertiliser to my plot

adding chicken manure
1 (50%)
wait till year end
1 (50%)

Total Members Voted: 1

to fertilise or not to fertilise....

• 4 Replies

Lis-M

to fertilise or not to fertilise....
« on: March 04, 2012, 11:04 »
Hello all... i am a newbie here.. and we have just started an allotment ....just a week ago to be exact...
the plot is not tooo bad.. the previous owner had to give it up cos of a bad back. She has had areas sectioned off with wood.. with grassy (couch )paths in between.. all a bit higgledy -piggeldy really. we have cleared nearly half so far, and I know peas and spuds are imminent.. but I am not sure whether to add a little chicken manure or not... i realise the main addition of manure is at the end of the year, and looking at the plot i'm not sure if this was the case here...
Do we add a little chicken manure as we go...? some books say don't add this to certain veg plantings , some say do... the more we read the unsure we are..? can anyone advise..?

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: to fertilise or not to fertilise....
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2012, 11:21 »
Welcome to the forums.

I think you've hit "new poll", not "new post".

Adding fertiliser depends on the crop, it's horses for courses and you can't give a rule that covers all.

Spuds - yes add your pellets before planting, they are really heavy feeders, peas don't need them, but would benefit from humus found in, for example, horse and cow manure, added the previous autumn.

I use chicken manure pellets quite a bit to supplement the horse manure I have access to. I never apply the pellets the previous autumn as to my mind the nutrients in them will just leech out of the soil over winter.

Other crops that generally don't need fertiliser are roots, such as carrots & parsnips and the salad crops.