Compost help

• 10 Replies

ClaireV

Compost help
« on: February 06, 2012, 14:37 »
Hi Everyone,

I'm very new to allotments and so this may seem really stupid, but I need advice about my compost bin please.  I was allocated a plot last week (very exciting!), and there is already a compost bin.  I made a small start clearing my plot and put the grass, leaves etc on top of the compost but now after reading a few pieces of info I'm starting to think I've done the wrong thing.  Am I right in thinking I should remove what I've put on there and start a new heap (and use up the existing compost as I clear the beds as it seems pretty established)?  A step by step guide for dummies should do the trick  ;)

Thanks!

JayG

• Global Moderator
Re: Compost help
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2012, 14:45 »
The only thing you've really done "wrong" is to bury what could be compost in perfect condition to use on your plot (on the other hand it might be nowhere near ready but you won't know unless you have a look!)  :)
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

Kleftiwallah

« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2012, 15:06 »

I would just chuck all the weeds from your initial clearing up into a big heap somewhere secluded and forget about them.

Don't get het up about not doing 'something by the book'.  Enjoy your gardening is the first rule.     Cheers,     Tony.
I may be growing OLD, but I refuse to grow UP !

ClaireV

« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2012, 16:11 »
Thanks both, I believe the compost underneath has been there a while so will take your advice and move what I've put on there already and start a new heap!  There are 2 compost bins (1 large and 1 even larger) so will empty one to start another.

Thanks,
Claire

Trillium

« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2012, 19:30 »