potatoes v slugs

• 27 Replies

Sadgit

• Village Idiot
    • Middlesbrough Weather
Re: potatoes v slugs
« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2012, 18:41 »
nematodes were my saviour at the plot. 1st couple of years my spuds were destroyed, until I started using nematodes. Like already said, I find slugs don't touch my Charlottes mind you.

ilan

• Experienced Member
« Reply #16 on: February 05, 2012, 22:49 »
I am a bit of a newbie to this growing but last year I cut out the plots from a medow gave it all a good digging, put in a load of compost and when the cold weather started gave it a work over with the digging hoe and fed the birds on it ,and every day I put out a bit of bird food on the plots now a quick going over and they come down to feast on what I put down and any stray bugs or slugs . Next door in the commercial orchards they use the same principal in the organic orchards just hang a load of bird feeders in the trees and whilst they are waiting to get on the feeders they clean the trees of any bugs  . Unfortunatly I have seen to many animals die a painfull death from slug pellets as whilst the pellets may not be attractive to eat a dead slug can make a meal for many .
This is the first age that has ever paid much attention to the future which is ironic since we may not have one !(Arthur c Clarke)

BabbyAnn

« Reply #17 on: February 06, 2012, 05:51 »
The slugs that do the worst damage to potatoes actually live in the soil rather than the big fat ugly ones that you see on the surface, so pellets only have a limited use where you need it and there is a risk of poisoning the soil if you add too many.