incubator day 22 ..... getting worried

• 9 Replies

silverteen

incubator day 22 ..... getting worried
« on: January 13, 2012, 08:30 »
i put my eggs in my forced air incubator 3 weeks ago yesterday (thurs) which means day 21 was yesterday. i bought 10 eggs and had 6 fertile eggs, one of which died after a few days and the last 5 were all alive when i candeled on day 18 and i set them. ir aised humidity to around 75-80%, it hovered around 30-40% for first 18 days.

I havent hear any cheeping like some people say but i have seen 3 of the eggs wobble slightly, they look like they are vibrating but that was on day 20 and still no signs of them breaking through!

Im getting worried now that they have died or cant break out! this is my first time incubating and i really dont want to lose any of the 5 let alone all 5.

Is it ever ok to help them out? i know it probably isnt the best idea but im worried. any help appreciated.

thanks

rileyfin

• Experienced Member
Re: incubator day 22 ..... getting worried
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2012, 08:40 »
Dont panic and sit tight  :)
I know how you feel, I hatched numerous eggs in a forced air incubator last year and it is sooooo stressful.
Dont worry about not hearing the cheap, sometimes you dont. It is always possible there is a problem but there is nothing you can do about it. However it is very likely they are just taking a bit longer espesially at this time of year.~The temperature may be a little lower than you think and because of this they will take a little longer.
Alot can happen in just a few hours, you wont help by trying to hurry things on, believe me I have made the mistake of panicing and jumping in when I should have left alone.
Please keep us informed, it is common for eggs to take an extra couple of days, they can even hatch a couple of days early.
 :wub:

silverteen

« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2012, 08:52 »
Thanks rileyfin,