Does this absolute beginners wk1 plan make sense?

• 20 Replies

Totty

Re: Does this absolute beginners wk1 plan make sense?
« Reply #15 on: November 06, 2011, 12:48 »
unless your plot is covered in thick weed that cannot be either pulled up or hoed off, i would leave the round up idea. spend time digging  the weeds out, or hoeing, and leave the soil you will be planting stuff in next year rough, if it has been neglected a bit, see if you can get hold of some rotted down farmyard manure and spread it over. The winter rain will help get the goodies from the manure into the soil, as will the worms you draw in, the frost will help break down any large clumps. When spring arrives you can rotavate if you like and you will have a nicely nourished soil with a fine tilth due to the large clumps being hit down by winter weather.
 Also, although we are all keen to get stuff in the ground and growing, some things are better that others for overwintering in my opinion. Peas are a pain in my experience, food is scarce for wildlife and a row of nice young peas means you will need to cover them to keep pests off. Also i have found overwintering varietys are not as tasty as spring sown varietys, so the couple of weeks earlier cropping is not worth the winter of hassle in my opinion.

Totty

Bodmass

• Follow Bod on Twitter
« Reply #16 on: November 06, 2011, 20:30 »
Cheers for that Totty.

The Mother-in-Law has already treated us to a fleeced cloche, large enough to cover a couple of rows of peas, that should help.  As it happens I'm no great fan of peas anyway, but to have one little corner growing anything (no matter how ineffectively), whilst we do that heavy work, is perhaps more for keeping the spirits up than for the food at the end   :)

It seems we actually get sporadic manure deliveries from a local stables, but I'm going to have to be quick to get it when it does come.