Greenhouse blinds

• 7 Replies

Dr Jim

Greenhouse blinds
« on: October 28, 2011, 22:04 »
Advice please - I am a total novice and have had my greenhouse for only about 5 months. I am intending to try heating it over the winter with a small blower heater, but I would like to know if it is worth purchasing some internal blinds (mine is a Robinson greenhouse) and blinds cost £72 each (down very recently from £90). Or is this really a non starter?

Gwiz

Re: Greenhouse blinds
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2011, 05:29 »
Sounds very expensive to me. :blink:
Why do you want the blinds? is it to insulate or to reduce the amount of sunlight? If you want to insulate, a far cheaper way of doint it would be with "Bubble glazing" £72 would insulate a pretty big greenhouse! if you want to reduce the amount of light, you could use some paint-on-the-glass shading or throw some netting over the glass (that's what I do on very bright days) ;)

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2011, 10:41 »
Don't quite understand why you are looking at blinds for a winter greenhouse - surely it's insulation you need rather than reducing the amount of light still further?  :unsure:

Most forms of heating are very expensive these days - electricity is around 13p per kilowatt-hour which could work out pretty expensive even for a relatively low-wattage heater with thermostat on a low setting.
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

Gwiz

« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2011, 11:08 »
JayG, I expect Dr Jim is thinking ahead to next season. ;)

Dr Jim

« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2011, 17:37 »