Aubergine problems

• 5 Replies

kentishlad

• Experienced Member
    • http://brownsterfarm.blogspot.com
Aubergine problems
« on: September 19, 2007, 10:17 »
Hi,

Has anyone come across this before, I'm growing aubergine f1moneymaker in an un-heated greenhouse, the plants have all grown well and are in pots around 8" diameter and 10" deep. each plant is about 24"-30" high and has 2 - 3 fruit, they start nice and black but as they get a bit bigger they go a milky pale colour (these are supposed to be black!) and just grow really slowly.
I water every day although I have missed the odd day, I give them a good watering until it runs out the base of the pot, I tried adding some liquid organic tomato feed every few days but this did nothing to help. Some of the lower leaves have lost their colour, a bit yellowish.
I open the greenhouse door when it's really hot, otherwise it has a roof vent that opens automatically and a side louvre that I have kept open. I'm new to this greenhouse lark!
We did eat one the other day and the taste was lovely but they just have not grown well and the colour must indicate I'm doing something wrong!!

Any advice appreciated!
Cheers,

Wayne.

muntjac

Aubergine problems
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2007, 15:30 »
they need feeding  use teaspoon ( superphosphate  ) potash per plant and 1/4 teaspooon sulphate of ammonia and water today but leave the morrows so the plants find a thirst then water every other day
still alive /............

mkhenry

Re: Aubergine problems
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2007, 18:00 »
Quote from: "kentishlad"
Hi,

Has anyone come across this before, I'm growing aubergine f1moneymaker in an un-heated greenhouse, the plants have all grown well and are in pots around 8" diameter and 10" deep. each plant is about 24"-30" high and has 2 - 3 fruit, they start nice and black but as they get a bit bigger they go a milky pale colour (these are supposed to be black!) and just grow really slowly.