more than one egg per day?

• 9 Replies

julieann

more than one egg per day?
« on: August 01, 2011, 18:53 »
Hi I'm new to keeping chickens. I thought they only laid one egg per day? I  came in tonight and found 3 eggs (2hens), over the moon but didn't realise they could lay more than one a day. Now im doubting myself did I miss one yesterday and find it today....pretty sure I didnt though.....can anyone clarify? Thanks

Nosher1964

Re: more than one egg per day?
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2011, 19:32 »
Hi,

Normally, the best (hybrid) girls lay every 25 hours, so, depending upon when you last looked, I guess it's possible....

For example, if you last looked at 10am yesterday, but 11am today then one of the girls may have laid twice.

Hope this helps.

Nosher1964.
Best Regards,

Nosher1964

julieann

« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2011, 21:32 »
no I looked in at 7am this morning, I changed the newspaper under their perches and considered putting more shavings in the nest box but didnt. there were no eggs then. I had taken the eggs out from the day before still on the bench in the kitchen, so no doubt about that.Ive just been reading that a white leghorn laid  371 eggs in 365 days in 1979; a world record, so I guess that means it is possible. If she hasn't laid two eggs then Ive somehow missed one days before and left it in a corner...but i doubt that  :unsure: I'm going to be really vigillant in future and keep a close eye on times i collect the eggs. Also even if i collected yesterdays eggs early, say 9am and then checked at 12.30pm today, one of them has laid twice within 27 hours  ???

Lindeggs

• A little Kiwi
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2011, 22:53 »
Yes it is possible - unusual but possible!  Often the second egg will have a weaker shell as the shell end of the chicken's 'conveyer belt' just can't keep up with the rest of the production line.