Moulting

• 11 Replies

yorkylover

Moulting
« on: July 24, 2011, 18:23 »
Is moulting for hens very stressfull?
I have noticed with my hens one has been under the weather for a couple of days,she is moulting and she is quite red underneath around where her new feathers are coming through.She keeps picking at them so they must be irritating her.

She has been spending alot of time just resting in her nest box,she is still laying and she is eating.

bantam novice

Re: Moulting
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2011, 20:16 »
Hello there,
I'm not an expert; however as I understand it a hen puts lots of energy into moulting and gets quite tired.  They will not usually lay while moulting.
You might want to check for little visitors e.g. lice or redmite.
Good luck and keep us posted  :)
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

yorkylover

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2011, 22:27 »
They haven't got mites they have all been treated and the coop to, it is moulting as she keeps pecking at the new feathers and she has red patches around the new feathers.She seems very hot as well.

bantam novice

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2011, 22:49 »
I know hens get warmer when they are broody and they also pluck out the feathers from their chest and underneath to brood the eggs better.   Is she "growling" at you and fluffing her feathers out when you get too close?

yorkylover

« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2011, 09:22 »
Yes she is Broody just had a look here and yes she has all the signs,thank you for your replies.

What do I do???

She wont come out of the nesting box unless I lift her out,and Iv had to do that to get her to eat and drink.She has been very red underneath and hot.She is all fluffed up and making growly sounds!!!!!!

bantam novice

« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2011, 14:06 »