Potato Tuber advice

• 4 Replies

louise81

Potato Tuber advice
« on: July 12, 2011, 11:29 »
Hi everyone I'm a newbie here and need a bit of help as I'm also a newbie to growing vegetables. I bought a set of potato growing set which consists of 5 bags and 5 of each Vivaldi, Rocket and Charlotte tubers. They came packaged in nets and in a Jiffy bag, I put them in the outside storage cupboard and have never got round to planting them  ::) I have just got them out and they have each sprouted quite long chits (i think thats the right term) Some are 6-7" others are up to 12" some are 2-3" so basically my questions are 1) Are these still able to be planted and provide a crop? 2) Can I plant them with the chits that long or can they be cut down?.......Sorry for my complete lack of knowledge I am a total beginner at this  :blush:

aelf

• idndtdodaftl
Re: Potato Tuber advice
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2011, 12:30 »
It may be worth a go with the earlier varieties like Charlotte but your main problem will be growing time. Planting now will mean cropping in October. If we have a very mild autumn or you can protect them in a greenhouse from September and if the late blight doesn't get them you could get a crop. I'd use the ones with shorter chits.

If you have the space and the time, why not have a go?  :)
There's more comfrey here than you can shake a stick at!

http://www.wedigforvictory.co.uk/dig_icon.gif[/img]

louise81

« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2011, 12:41 »
thanks for your reply, the Charlottes are the ones with the longest chits, they are approx 1cm think too and are starting to show green on the ends, if I were to have a go at just planting them all would I cover them with compost right up to the top of the chit?

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2011, 12:52 »
yes, put them near the bottom and gradually feed in the compost trying not to damage the chits. put some feed in as you fill as well. I'd grow them all , as they're firsts and 2nds :)