getting chickens to use the roost...

• 14 Replies

timtheenchanteruk

getting chickens to use the roost...
« on: July 06, 2011, 17:56 »
what it says really, I have a roost in their house, but they just do not want to use it, they could jump up to it if they wanted, or there is a ramp.
Instead they insist on using the nest box to all huddle into (theres only 3)
Ive tried going in later on and putting one or 2 onto it, they seem to stay there that night, but resume the box the next night.

Im not too concerned at the moment, but I do leave the house door open at night (they have a secure run) and when it gets colder the nest box may suffer a slight draught, the roost purpously made so its well out of the draught.

is the roost too dark? do I need a window to let light in to the top part of the house?

bantam novice

Re: getting chickens to use the roost...
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2011, 21:17 »
I am not an expert - just wanted to wish you luck :)
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

orchardlady

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2011, 22:01 »
You certainly do not need a window for light otherwise they will be pushing to be let out as soon as it's dawn and in the summer months that is really really early!

You are on the right track by putting them up onto the roosting bars...keep it up. Also block off the nesting box in the late afternoon, after all egg laying activity is finished for the day, with something like an old cardboard shoe box or crisp box.

They will get the hang of it eventually.

Orchardlady. :)

daisy1990

« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2011, 22:13 »