How many chickens

• 7 Replies

bexs13

How many chickens
« on: June 30, 2011, 10:16 »
Hi

Im new to keeping chickens and hope to get our first ones this weekend. Was after a bit of advice on how many I can keep. We have a 5ft x 3ft house and a 12ft x 15ft run, I am planning on getting bantams, any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Jacinta

Re: How many chickens
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2011, 10:28 »
Hello, your run works out at about 17 square meters and it is a general rule to allow 2 square meters at least per bird.  This gives you room for 8 chooks to be happy and have space, especially if you're getting bantams.  The house size seems fine, provided it has enough roosting space at around 10'' per bird, so if you had 8 birds you'd need 80'' or around 7'.  So maybe your house would need 2 roosting bars the length of the house. 

Hope this helps.

bexs13

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2011, 10:53 »
Hi

Thanks for the quick reply. The house has eight perches four either side, which run the short side of the house, this seems ok by what you quoted. I was thinking of between 8 - 10 chooks, so not a bad estimate, thanks again. Just another quick question. Should I treat the house with some kind of mite powder before I house the chooks?

orchardlady

« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2011, 11:23 »
Yes to treating the house with mite deterrent as the red mite although don't live on the birds could be introduce by a stray one or two on your new birds.

Mix a slurry of diatomaceous earth, water or a good animal disinfectant and a good slug of washing up liquid. It will go very lumpy at first but keep going with the mixing until it becomes a smooth mixture about the consistency of gloss paint or pouring custard.