HELP Is my way of feeding my hens okay ???

• 1 Replies

Michelebicker

HELP Is my way of feeding my hens okay ???
« on: June 24, 2011, 22:43 »
 :( I'm new to keeping hens but I have had breeding parrots, and I have 3 hens a light Suffolk "princess Anne" a silver Sussex "cheeky girl" and " rocky" a rhode rock cross all full size point of lay 20 weeks old laying 1 egg each a day one of them double yolks!.
They live in my walled in back garden free range and in a coop at night closed in .
My feeding routine is this 6 am let them out and give them a handful of black sunflower seeds
Fresh water and organic layers pellets ( they don't like orneat much of it ) then after collecting eggs at 1 to 2pm I give them chopped cabbage apple cucumber fresh corn and greens from our allotment spinach carrot tops stuff like that left over fruit kiwi ( they love this Mix ) and try to jump on the plate they scramble for It ! Then they have 2 scoops of corn and wheat this gets half Eaten. I give them a tablespoon of probiotic yogurt 3 times a week with poultry spice and 3 consecutive days a month I add organic wormer to this mixture. My worry is that they do not eat the layers pellets so I'm worried that there not getting the much needed nutrition from the pellets ? They have grit and oyster shell and of course fresh water changed twice a day. Eggs are well shaped and hard shelled. Just love my hens there very tame would not want to cause dietary problems for them. I would welcome some advice or confirmation. Thanks

hillfooter

Re: HELP Is my way of feeding my hens okay ???
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2011, 02:28 »
Hi Michele,

Congratulations on your new chickens.  It sounds like you'll be a kind and caring chicken keeper however I think your best course of action would be to get a basic book on chicken keeping such as Katie Thears "Starting with Chickens" or Haynes "Chicken Manual".