ON HER OWN

• 8 Replies

JACDORE

ON HER OWN
« on: June 23, 2011, 17:04 »
Just lost the other day one of my girls  :(.  Now have just the one left, can she be left on her own or does she need company?
2 rottys 4 cats, 2 gecko's, 2 beardies, 2 hamsters, 1 guinea pig, 1 rabbit, 12 various fish, 6 hens, 1 hubby, (lol)

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: ON HER OWN
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2011, 17:35 »
she really needs company - chickens are very social animals.
Staffies are softer than you think.

Kathie

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2011, 17:37 »
Sorry to hear about your loss.  I'm no expert but chickens are a flock animal and I would suggest she could do with some company.
Best Wishes and good luck
3 dogs now, 2 passed RIP Poppy and Paige, one wonderful husband and a new adventure on this wonderful island

JACDORE

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2011, 17:43 »
thats what we thought.  She is a rhode rock black and is coming up for 3.  Whats the best age to get for her and will it be bad introducing her to some more.  Were thinking of getting a duck or 2 as well, thought???

Sassy

« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2011, 08:23 »
People do successfully keep ducks with hens. You need to bear in mind if you use the same house that chooks perch and the ducks will settle beneath them and get pooped on! Not ideal. Also a drake may not be particular when he feels amorous :ohmy: :blink:

You definitely need to get her some company :)
Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted!!

Laydies

« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2011, 20:32 »
Hi, I'm so sorry to hear about your laydie - we have just lost our bluebelle yesterday and am now left with a solitary Rhode Rock so am in the same situation as yourself.
Our laydie is about 16 months old... and has yet to lay an egg - which is beside the point, we love her dearly and want to do the best for her.  We are very concerned about her being on her own and deciding to what will be best to do..