Plot planning / Record keeping?

• 18 Replies

plot36

« on: September 09, 2007, 01:24 »
Hi All
I know this might sound silly but here goes…..Has any one got a good  way of keeping records of all that you do on the plot?.

I have tried many different ways; some are to long boring and taking a lot of time to do with each Vegetable.

I am new to all this and I know it would be so helpful just to get an idea or to see how other growers keep records of  planting and crop rotation.

If you have any tips to share  or could email any to me view it would be very helpful.

Many Thanks
and
Happy Growing

muntjac

rotation system
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2007, 04:31 »
ok divide the plot into 3 sections start at the top of the plot and assign that secion 1 going down the plot to section 2 then 3 . now  section 1 manure this year and plant brassicas on that section add lime 1 oz to square yard .plant roots on section 2 and salads and any other surface growing stuff you want on section 3 . make  list of what you have sown on each plot . now copy the picture to a piece of paper  and now make a similar picture 2 more times .it should look like this  
 year 1 section 1 manure potato's brassicas
            ""   "    2 roots onions
            ""   "    3 salads radish etc

year 2 section 2 manure potato's brassicas
             ""  "   3 salads radish etc
             ""  "   1 roots onions

year 3 section 3 manure potato's brassicas.
            ""    "   1 roots onions
            ""    "   2 salads radish etc

now for each section and year you can mark down what seeds or plants you put in that section and you can also see that you have a rotation system to keep track of when you should manure and lime .. ( DO NOT LIME FOR POTATO'S ).i think on a single plot as most members have they should grow potato's only if they have a need to .they take up so much room to make any real amount of harvest .better to grow in tubs or bags for a treat
still alive /............

shaun