Soft Shells

• 18 Replies

kegs

Soft Shells
« on: June 09, 2011, 13:19 »
Hello All,
I'm new to chicken keeping and need your advice again please.

We have a Hipswell Sussex that we got 6 wks ago that has been laying soft shelled eggs at night for the last 2 weeks.  I bought some Limestone flour on Monday with some Cod Liver oil, coated some bread with both and fed it to her.  She ate it Mon, Tue and yesterday but this morning there was another soft shell in the coop and today she wouldn't take the bread, is off her food and is quiet, listless and just standing around looking sorry for herself.  I've checked her over and can't see any nasties.  Their coop was new, is only 4 wks old and has been treated as per Hillfooter's suggestions so I don't suspect red mite. They are in the garden all day (she's one of four and is bottom of the pecking order), she has layers pellets and grit with shell available at all times and I'm now out of ideas.   I would really appreciate any comments.

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: Soft Shells
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2011, 13:23 »
as they are new and young - cut out all treats (and that includes the oil and the bread) and make sure they have a good quality of layers pellets and a pot of crushed oyster shell.  Make sure she is getting enough to eat so have several feeders around - if she is the bottom of the pecking order the others could be stopping her get to the food. You may find for a while that you have to have more feeders than you have chickens - this way she will always be able to get some food.
Staffies are softer than you think.

kegs

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2011, 16:08 »
Thanks Joyfull,

I'll give that a go and hope she improves.  Is it common for chickens to lay soft eggs - there always seem so many posts about it on this site?

Also, how often should I use Frontline on the chickens please - and should I use it if there is no evidence of worms?

Sorry to be such a novice!  ::)

joyfull