Potatoes

• 6 Replies

newbiegrower

Potatoes
« on: September 07, 2007, 18:23 »
I would like to plant a salad potato or something similar to a jersey royal and a general potato suitable for baking etc can anyone recomend any good ones and when do I plant and do I need to earth them up and if so how do I do that.  This is my first year of having an allotment so very much a novice.
by the time i am old and grey i might be 100% organic

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Potatoes
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2007, 18:53 »
International Kidney are your 'Jersey Royals', but having gown them over here, mine tasted nothing like them. The answer lies in the soil!

Other good salad spuds are Pink Fir Apple & Charlotte.

I've always found 'Kestrel' to make reasonable size bakers, but there are many varieties popular with other members as no doubt you'll soon find out!
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

agapanthus

Potatoes
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2007, 19:24 »
I grew Picasso for the 1st time this year and was greatly surprised....massive tubers  approx 8-10lb per plant! They were a bit blighted...but not as much as the others....I also cut the haulms down fairly early in the year and they wer'nt affected at all. Will deffo be growing them again next year :)

WG.

Potatoes
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2007, 19:50 »
Pink Fir Apple for the best flavour

Annie

Potatoes
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2007, 21:26 »