Plum Tree advise please

• 10 Replies

Settman

Plum Tree advise please
« on: June 02, 2011, 16:10 »
B&Q are selling Victoria plum trees for about £10,they are grown especially for small gardens it says and grow to about 13/16 feet in height.
Can i grow this in a big pot of about 55cm in width or does it really need to be grown in the ground.
It says its a heavy cropper but when i asked the man there he said it would need to go in the ground as i wouldnt get many plums if grown in a pot.
Im sure he knows his stuff but i thought id ask some experts?
Thanks in advance
Is God an Alien

TerryB

• Winner of the Tallest Sunflower Competition - 2011
  • Experienced Member
Re: Plum Tree advise please
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2011, 16:19 »
I'm no expert but i think you would need a pot about 120cm/4ft across to stand a chance of getting a good crop of a tree that can grow to 16ft.
The pot would cost a lot more than your tree.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2011, 17:44 »
The roots like to spread as wide as the branches, so I agree you'd need a very very big pot  :(

At 13/16 feet it's not on Pixy dwarf rootstock  :(  only a semi dwarf one, so not really for a small garden at all IMO

sion01

« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2011, 18:13 »
I've got victoria plums on a semi dwarf rootstock .they are only about 6 years old and are about 9 foot tall know so a pot would have to be massive.If you want to plant a fruit tree in a big/huge pot i'd to for fig as they fruit better their roots are restricted.

aqua

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2011, 19:19 »
can't you stick it on the edge of the lottie

Settman

« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2011, 19:50 »