Greetings from the garden.....newbie here...advice on poop....

• 19 Replies

brick22

Hi everyone

Just wanted to say hello before I starting asking for advice & help. We now have 2 new chickens (hybrids Maran & Bluebell) to our household & I literally cannot believe we never did this sooner. (i had chickens about 25 years ago).

They seem to be settling in well although one likes to fall asleep outside rather than roosting indoors. I've been putting her in at night but so far she is very persistent about sleeping outside.

They are still in the run but we are thinking of letting them out in the garden for a roam about tomorrow, we have had them for 5 days now, hope this is not too early (or late).

OK.......some advice please....Both are eating well (layered pellets) but I have a feeling one (bluebell) might have worms as her poop seems to be very runny and quite a light colour compared to the other. Its also sticking to her feathers so I'm wondering if I should cut these away as they seem impossible to wash & I don't want to freak her out while she is still settling in, we were told they were both wormed about 2 weeks ago, is it possible to over worm? I have purchased some Verm-X but not used yet.

Thank you everyone for your time....x
The key to everything is patience. You get the chicken by hatching the egg, not by smashing it.” - unknown

Catsmuvva

• Experienced Member
Hi, welcome to the forum!

I always use Flubenvet for worming and, from what I gather, it wouldn't do any harm to worm the girls again, particularly if the problem hasn't cleared up.

I wouldn't bother trimming the feathers. Instead have you got a spare bowl that you can part fill with warm water, stand her in it & wash the poo off? I always add a bit of Hibiscrub but don't worry if you haven't got any. Once you've washed the poo off, pat her dry with a towel & then use a hairdryer on a warm setting to dry her off - my girls love it!

Springlands

Hullo Brick and welcome