New Grower/Daft Qustions

• 7 Replies

spursn17

New Grower/Daft Qustions
« on: June 01, 2011, 11:03 »
Hi all, I'm brand new to allotment growing so my questions may seem a bit daft.

I've got some Kale, Cabbage, Broccoli, and Cauliflower nearly ready to plant out. Now I know I have to protect these from butterflies so I'm going to build a cage to net over. How high do these veggies grow, and how high would you build the cage?

potatogrower

• Experienced Member
Re: New Grower/Daft Qustions
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2011, 11:15 »
you can build a simple 4 or 6 post bamboo cage (depending on the length of the area you want to cover). get metre long bamboo put a small split on one end of the bamboo with a knife and in the slit slide in your net to hold it in place and job done. all you need is a big net that will go over the top and run down the sides. half a metre or a metre long bamboo would be fine. at the bottom, get some broken bricks and put them in place.

when finished it can be easily disassembled and put away.

any more questions fire away or have a search on the forums, there's plenty of info here and on the web.  ;)

hope that helps :)

PG
« Last Edit: June 01, 2011, 11:18 by potatogrower »

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2011, 11:19 »
Make sure you use netting fine enough to keep them out though (if you search for "debris netting" on this forum you will get about 11 pages of threads on the subject!)  :)
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

Kleftiwallah

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2011, 11:21 »

No such thing as daft questions (with or without an 'e')  only daft answers.  :D  Keep 'em coming.   Cheers and welcome.   Tony.
I may be growing OLD, but I refuse to grow UP !

stompy

« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2011, 11:22 »